ARM vs. Fixed-Rate Mortgage: Which Fits Your Situation

The choice comes down to caps, margins and how long you keep the loan — plus mortgage insurance rules that follow the program, not the rate type.

By Tobias Lindqvist · Oct 06, 2026 · 10 min read

Featured image for "ARM vs. Fixed-Rate Mortgage: Which Fits Your Situation"

A fixed-rate mortgage locks your note rate for the full term. An adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) holds a start rate for a set period, then resets on a schedule using an index plus a fixed margin, inside caps written into your note. The structure you pick changes how much payment risk you carry after the fixed period — it does not change your program's credit score minimum, down payment minimum, or mortgage insurance rules, which come from whether you use a conventional or FHA loan.

What follows compares the two on the numbers lenders actually underwrite to, and maps specific borrower profiles to one option or the other. Rate levels and the size of any ARM start-rate discount move week to week and differ by lender, metro, loan size and property type, so quote both on the same day. None of this replaces advice from a licensed loan officer on your file.

Side-by-Side Comparison

Both columns assume a 30-year term. Where a number comes from the loan program rather than the rate structure, it appears in both columns because it is identical.

Feature30-year fixed-rateAdjustable-rate (e.g., 5/1 ARM)
Minimum credit score620 conventional (Fairway Independent Mortgage and LendingTree, undated); 580 FHA with 3.5% down, 500 FHA with 10% down (National Association of Realtors, undated)620 conventional; 580 FHA with 3.5% down, 500 FHA with 10% down — same minimums, same sources
Minimum down payment3% conventional (Conventional 97); 3.5% FHA at 580+; 10% FHA at 500–5793% conventional; 3.5% FHA at 580+; 10% FHA at 500–579
Mortgage insurance requirementConventional: PMI required under 20% down, none at 20% or more (Fannie Mae, undated). FHA: 1.75% upfront plus 0.55% annual for most borrowers (SuperMoney, undated), annual premium ranging 0.15%–0.75% in 2026 requirement tables (LendingTree, undated)Identical: conventional PMI under 20% down, none at 20%+; FHA 1.75% upfront plus 0.55% annual, 0.15%–0.75% range
Typical rate spread0.00 percentage points — this is the benchmark. The 30-year fixed averaged 6.95% the week of 2026-09-17 (Freddie Mac PMMS) and 7.28% the week of 2026-10-01, up from 7.03% the prior week (Freddie Mac data via Fox Business)Margin of 2.75 percentage points over the index in published examples; with a 30-day SOFR average of 4.34%, the fully indexed rate works out to 7.09% (AmeriSave, undated)
Rate adjustments after closingNone — 0 adjustments across 360 paymentsFirst adjustment after month 60 on a 5/1, then every 12 months
Rate capsNone needed; the rate does not change2/2/5 or 2/1/5 structures: 2 points at first adjustment, 2 or 1 point per adjustment after, 5 points lifetime (Wikipedia and MortgageCo, undated)
Worst case under the capsNone above the note rateStart rate plus 5 points — 3.5% becomes 8.5% in one published 5/2/5 example (GoldCoast Mortgage Service, undated)
Advance notice of a payment changeNone required; no changes occur60–240 days before the change takes effect (GoldCoast Mortgage Service, undated)
Required disclosure at applicationNone specific to the rate typeCFPB Consumer Handbook on Adjustable-Rate Mortgages, required for any ARM (AmeriSave, undated)
Qualifying rate used in underwritingThe note rate you lockThe fully indexed rate, not the start rate (GoldCoast Mortgage Service, undated)

Mortgage insurance cancellation differs too: conventional PMI can be requested off at 80% of original value and must come off automatically at 78% (NerdWallet, undated), and Texas guidance describes cancellation at 80% or less of current fair market appraised value (Texas Department of Insurance, undated). FHA MIP often runs the life of the loan unless you put 10% down or refinance (SuperMoney, undated).

One distinction to keep straight on every quote: the interest rate is what your payment is calculated from; the APR folds lender fees into a single annualized cost figure and is normally higher than the note rate. On an ARM, the disclosed APR rests on an assumption that the index holds steady — it is not a forecast.

FHA has size limits a fixed/ARM choice won't change: the 2025 base limit is $524,225 for single-family homes, rising to $1,209,750 in high-cost areas (AmeriSave, undated).

How They Compare

  • 620–679 credit, 3% down on a Conventional 97, planning to stay 10 years or more: fixed wins. You are already paying PMI until the balance hits 80% of original value (Fannie Mae and NerdWallet, undated), and a 3%-down loan amortizes slowly at the start. Adding a repricing risk of up to 5 percentage points under a 2/1/5 cap (MortgageCo, undated) stacks two uncertainties on one budget. The fixed rate removes one of them for all 360 payments.
  • 740+ credit, 20% down, firm exit inside the fixed period: an ARM is worth pricing. At 20% down there is no PMI on a conventional loan (Fannie Mae, undated), so the only variable is how many percentage points below the fixed quote the ARM start rate sits. Get both quoted the same day — the benchmark 30-year fixed moved 0.25 percentage points in a single week, from 7.03% to 7.28% for the week of 2026-10-01 (Freddie Mac data via Fox Business). If the ARM discount is small, you are taking adjustment risk for very little.
  • Any borrower whose debt-to-income is tight: the ARM gives you no qualifying advantage. Lenders must assess ability to repay at the fully indexed rate (GoldCoast Mortgage Service, undated) — 7.09% in AmeriSave's example with a 4.34% 30-day SOFR average and a 2.75% margin — not at the discounted start rate. If a fixed quote of 6.95% (Freddie Mac PMMS, week of 2026-09-17) already strains your ratios, an ARM at a lower start rate will not fix it.
  • FHA borrower at 580 credit with 3.5% down: the MIP dominates, so take the fixed. You pay 1.75% upfront plus 0.55% annually, often for the life of the loan unless you put 10% down or refinance (SuperMoney, undated). That 0.55% rides on the balance every year no matter which rate structure you choose, and the usual escape route — refinancing — depends on rates you cannot know in advance. Locking the note rate keeps at least one line of the payment stable.
  • Anyone measuring the size of the swing. GoldCoast Mortgage Service's published 5/2/5 example (undated) shows a 3.5% start rate reaching 8.5% and a payment moving from $2,173 to $4,070. That published example does not state the loan amount, term, credit score or down payment behind it, so read it as the shape of a capped worst case rather than as your payment. Ask your lender to run the same worst case using your actual loan amount, term and down payment.
  • Context for how fast the fixed side moves. The 30-year fixed averaged 6.18% the week of 2025-12-24 (Freddie Mac), 6.95% the week of 2026-09-17 (Freddie Mac PMMS) and 7.28% the week of 2026-10-01 (Freddie Mac data via Fox Business) — roughly 1.10 percentage points of movement across those readings. That range is a reason to compare quotes within the same week, not a prediction of where anything goes next. PMMS surveys lenders Monday to Wednesday and publishes Thursdays at 10 a.m. EST (Mortgage News Daily, undated).

Who Should Choose Which

  • First-time buyer, 680 credit score, 5% down, expecting to stay 7+ years: 30-year conventional fixed (Conventional 97 family, 620 minimum score, 3% minimum down). PMI applies under 20% down and can be requested off at 80% of original value, automatic at 78% (NerdWallet, undated).
  • Buyer with a 580–619 score and 3.5% down: FHA 30-year fixed. You are below the 620 conventional minimum (LendingTree, undated) but meet FHA's 580 threshold (National Association of Realtors, undated). Budget 1.75% upfront MIP plus 0.55% annual (SuperMoney, undated).
  • Buyer with a 500–579 score and 10% down saved: FHA 30-year fixed with 10% down — the only listed path at that score band (National Association of Realtors, undated) — and the 10% down also keeps you out of life-of-loan MIP (SuperMoney, undated).
  • Relocating buyer, 760 score, 20% down, employer contract ending in four years: 5/1 ARM with 2/1/5 caps. No PMI at 20% down (Fannie Mae, undated), the first adjustment falls at month 60, and you still must qualify at the fully indexed rate — 7.09% in AmeriSave's example (undated).
  • Buyer whose DTI only clears at the lower start rate: 30-year fixed. ARM underwriting uses the fully indexed rate (GoldCoast Mortgage Service, undated), so the ARM will not approve a payment the fixed loan rejects.
  • Buyer in a high-cost metro over the FHA ceiling: conventional fixed or jumbo. FHA's 2025 base limit is $524,225, rising to $1,209,750 in high-cost areas (AmeriSave, undated); above your county's limit, FHA is off the table at any rate type.
  • Homeowner refinancing with 20%+ equity and no plan to move for a decade: 30-year fixed. There is no PMI at that equity level on a conventional loan (Fannie Mae, undated), and the fixed rate removes the 5-point lifetime adjustment exposure a 2/2/5 ARM carries (Wikipedia, undated).
  • Borrower who cannot absorb a payment increase on any timeline — fixed income, tight reserves: 30-year fixed, regardless of credit band. A 60–240 day notice before an ARM adjustment (GoldCoast Mortgage Service, undated) is warning, not protection.

Frequently asked questions

Does choosing an ARM change the credit score I need?

No. The minimum comes from the loan program: 620 for conventional (Fairway Independent Mortgage and LendingTree, undated), 580 for FHA with 3.5% down, and 500–579 for FHA with 10% down (National Association of Realtors, undated). Individual lenders can set higher overlays than those program floors, and pricing at 620 differs from pricing at 760 on either rate structure.

Will I pay mortgage insurance on an ARM?

On a conventional ARM, PMI applies only if you put down less than 20% (Fannie Mae, undated), and you can request cancellation at 80% of original value with automatic removal at 78% (NerdWallet, undated); Texas guidance describes cancellation at 80% or less of current fair market appraised value (Texas Department of Insurance, undated). On an FHA ARM, you pay 1.75% upfront plus 0.55% annual for most borrowers (SuperMoney, undated), with 2026 requirement tables showing an annual range of 0.15%–0.75% (LendingTree, undated), often for the life of the loan unless you put 10% down or refinance.

How high can my ARM payment actually go?

As high as your caps allow. A 2/2/5 or 2/1/5 structure permits 2 percentage points at the first adjustment, 2 or 1 point at each later adjustment, and 5 points total over the life of the loan (Wikipedia and MortgageCo, undated). In one published 5/2/5 example, a 3.5% start rate reaches 8.5% and the payment goes from $2,173 to $4,070 (GoldCoast Mortgage Service, undated) — that example does not disclose its loan amount, term or down payment, so ask your lender to run the capped worst case on your own numbers before you sign.

Is the ARM rate I'm quoted the same as its APR?

No. The interest rate sets your payment; the APR adds lender fees into one annualized figure and is normally the higher of the two. For an ARM, the APR assumes the index stays where it is, so it does not show you the capped worst case. Compare quotes within the same week: the benchmark 30-year fixed moved from 7.03% to 7.28% in one week (Freddie Mac data via Fox Business, 2026-10-01), and PMMS collects lender data Monday to Wednesday for a Thursday 10 a.m. EST release (Mortgage News Daily, undated).

Sources

  1. Freddie Mac — Mortgage Rates Average 6.95% (2026-09-17)
  2. Freddie Mac — Heading into the Christmas Holiday, Rates Dip Lower (2025-12-24)
  3. Fox Business — Mortgage rates surge (2026-10-01)
  4. Mortgage News Daily — Freddie Mac Mortgage Rates - Weekly Survey
  5. National Association of Realtors — FHA Loan Requirements: What Every Real Estate Agent Needs to Know
  6. AmeriSave — FHA Loan Down Payment Requirements: 2026 Complete Guide for Homebuyers
  7. Fairway Independent Mortgage Corporation — Conventional 97 Loan: How to Qualify for a Low Down Payment Mortgage
  8. LendingTree — Minimum Mortgage Requirements for 2026
  9. Fannie Mae — What to Know About Private Mortgage Insurance
  10. NerdWallet — How to Get Rid of PMI
  11. Texas Department of Insurance — Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI)
  12. SuperMoney — Mortgage Insurance Premium (MIP): 2026 FHA Rates Explained
  13. Wikipedia — Adjustable-rate mortgage
  14. GoldCoast Mortgage Service, Inc. — Adjustable-Rate Mortgage: Pros & Cons
  15. AmeriSave — 5/1 ARM Loan: What It Is and How It Works in 2026

Written by

Tobias Lindqvist

Tobias covers floor plans, renovation trends, and the small design decisions that change how a home works. He's suspicious of trends that promise to 'future-proof' a house. He prefers writing about function over finishes.

More in Mortgages & Financing

Featured image for "30-Year Fixed Mortgage Rates This Week: What's Driving Them"
Mortgages & Financing

30-Year Fixed Mortgage Rates This Week: What's Driving Them

The 30-year fixed-rate mortgage averaged 7.28% in Freddie Mac's Primary Mortgage Market Survey for the week ending October 1, 2026, up from 7.03% the previous week and 6.34% a year earlier (Freddie Mac, 2026-10-01). That is a 0.25 percentage-point move in seven days and a 0.94 percentage-point move in twelve months.

Odalys Reyes Fontaine · 8 min read

Featured image for "Mortgage Rates Today: This Month's Outlook and What's Driving Them"
Mortgages & Financing

Mortgage Rates Today: This Month's Outlook and What's Driving Them

The 30-year fixed-rate mortgage averaged 7.28% in the week ending October 1, 2026, up from 7.03% a week earlier and 6.34% a year ago (Freddie Mac Primary Mortgage Market Survey, 2026-10-01). That is a 0.25 percentage-point move in seven days and 0.94 points in twelve months, and it is the highest 30-year reading since November 22, 2023, when the average was 7.29% (Fox Business, 2026-10-01).

Desmond Achebe-Park · 8 min read

Featured image for "How to Qualify for a Mortgage When You're Self-Employed"
Mortgages & Financing

How to Qualify for a Mortgage When You're Self-Employed

If you own 25% or more of a business, lenders treat you as self-employed and underwrite your income from tax returns rather than pay stubs (Fannie Mae, 2023-12-13; Freddie Mac, undated; New American Funding, undated). That means your qualifying income is the net figure left after deductions, your documentation burden runs two years deep in most cases, and the number you think you earn may not be the number the lender uses.

Maren Vickery · 9 min read

Featured image for "How Much Are Closing Costs: A State-by-State Breakdown"
Mortgages & Financing

How Much Are Closing Costs: A State-by-State Breakdown

Closing costs are not one number. They are a stack of lender charges, third-party service fees, title and settlement costs and government recording charges, and the total swings from about $2,061 for buyers and sellers combined in Missouri to $29,888 in Washington, D.C. (Yahoo Finance, undated). Measured as a share of the purchase price, average closing costs run from 1.2% to 2.47% of a home's value depending on the state, according to an Assurance IQ study cited by the National Association of Realtors (2023-11-03).

Maren Vickery · 10 min read